New Zealand Time Zone

Page Links

General Information

New Zealand is 12 hours ahead of Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) - which means it is the first country in the world to start the new day. There is only one time zone in New Zealand, so the time in Auckland is also the time all over the country. To find out the current time in New Zealand, click here.

Daylight Saving Time

New Zealand operates daylight saving time (DST) - DST begins on the last Sunday in September, when 2:00am becomes 3:00am, and DST ends on the first Sunday in April the following year, when 3:00am becomes 2:00am. This means that in the summer during daylight saving, New Zealand will be 13 hours ahead of London time (GMT). In the winter when London is on daylight saving time, New Zealand is 11 hours ahead of London.


Public Holidays

New Zealand has the following Public and School Holidays - click here

Current Time in New Zealand and International Cities

The clocks below give the current time in New Zealand and other major cities in the world.

New York
Hong Kong
Cape Town
Los Angeles